Subject: "2 cylce propane conversion" Archived thread - Read only

Conferences > International Moped BBS > Topic #1026
Reading Topic #1026

julian
unregistered user
Sep-12-04, 12:44 PM (EDT)

"2 cylce propane conversion"

hello all,
i'm new to the whole moped thing, and i dont know much about two stroke engine mechanics, but i'm cabable and can figure stuff out. i want my tomos sprint to run on propane. is this possible? i've heard of 2 stroke engines running on propane, but i havent been able to find any info. i figured somebody on this forum might either know how to do it or might be able to point me in the right direction. any info is greatly appreciated.
thanks

julian

InfectedBootSector
Member since Dec-11-02
717 posts
Sep-17-04, 11:25 PM (EDT)

1. "RE: 2 cylce propane conversion"
In response to message #0

It would be cool to see this work, but I don't think it is practical. Propane motors sucks down more fuel that gas motors do for the same amount of work. To top that off, it costs more than gas, and is more difficult to store.

95 elite
unregistered user
Sep-26-04, 11:40 AM (EDT)

2. "RE: 2 cylce propane conversion"
In response to message #1

I think it is possible,propane is cheap,you just have to figure out where to store the little coleman bottle(thats what i would use) I would store it under the seat because its away from my hot exhaust. Then u would have to find a way to link the propane to the carb and still have the oil flowing to the motor(if its a two-stroke) Im sure it can be done,ive seen it done on other engines just not on two-strokes,they have boost bottles that u can buy for motorbikes so why not have propane

InfectedBootSector
Member since Dec-11-02
717 posts
Sep-26-04, 08:22 PM (EDT)

3. "RE: 2 cylce propane conversion"
In response to message #2